Everyone cheats… I made cookies!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies — Photo by Aclyesia, 2014

I’ve been reading a lot of articles and blogs lately on diets and weight loss and one very common word of advice I’ve come across is to allow yourself to cheat from time to time.  I guess the idea behind this is, as long as it feels like you’re “cheating”, then it’s not an issue so much as when your occasional treat or “cheat” becomes a normal thing.  Despite this advice, I still felt the need to somehow cheat less when that strong, unending craving for a deliciously delectable confection arose, so I altered an Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie recipe I hijacked from the Food Network’s site.

I knew that applesauce could be used as a substitute for butter or sugar in recipes, and that Blue Agave nectar is a sweetener alternative as well.  I really only wanted to cut down on the sugar in the recipe so here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Special Sweets Blend Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups rolled (old-fashioned) oats
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tablespoons blue agave nectar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Now, whoever’s idea it was to tell a klutz like me to ever use a medium bowl to mix anything in, is a tard.  So for people like me, I’ve also modified the directions:

  • Find the 2 biggest bowls you have in your kitchen.  If you have a kitchen stand mixer, the 5 quart bowl for it will suffice as one of them.  In the smaller of the 2 big bowls (Or the non-mixer bowl), mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and oats together.
  • In the biggest bowl (Your stand mixer bowl!) beat the butter, applesauce, blue agave nectar, and brown sugar together for 30 seconds.  It’s going to look pretty bad…like buttercream that’s been sorely overbeaten and separated.  This is fine.  I doesn’t matter!  Beat in the egg for about 45 more seconds on medium-high speed then slowly add the maple syrup and vanilla extract.  It’s still going to look gross, but we’ll remedy that next!
  • Drop your mixer speed to low and slowly mix in your flour/oatmeal mixture.  I added it about 1 cup at a time.  Don’t over-mix it.  Once fully incorporated, add your chocolate chips.
  • If you haven’t already, get out your cookie sheet(s) and line them with parchment paper.  I hate it when my cookie sheets get discolorations from things I’ve cooked so I *always* use parchment paper or aluminum foil.  Wax paper is a no-no for the oven.  I found this out the hard way a few years ago.  Once you’ve lined your cookie sheet, drop cookie dough in roughly-ball shaped clumps no less than 1″ apart.  These cookies don’t really spread or “grow” as they bake, but they will expand a little bit on the bottom.  As awesome as one giant pan-shaped cookie sounds, it would suck for sharing, and since I don’t want to be a fat kid anymore… Well, you get the picture.
  • Bake the cookies at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes, or until the tops are lightly browned.  Your time may vary depending on your oven.  Once they’re done, set the cookies on a rack to cool.  Then eat a few!  They really aren’t that bad for you!
2 thoughts on “Everyone cheats… I made cookies!”

Leave a Reply

