About Di

Hello!  If you’ve landed on this page, I’d first like to thank you for taking the time to check out my blog and peek at what I have to say.

I’m a native of Olympia, Washington but spent a majority of my childhood throughout northern and central Wisconsin where my father attended college.  My family story is a little effed up (for lack of a better way to put it).  I was raised by my father after my biological mother determined she was neither ready nor mature enough to be a mother.  Though I bear no ill-will toward her, I do not presently have a relationship with her though I would definitely be open to it, were it something she expressed an interest in developing.

I am the eldest of 7: I have 3 half-sisters and 2 half-brothers on my mother’s side, and I have 1 half-brother on my dad’s side of whom I grew up with.  Unsurprisingly, I am closest to my brother Nathan.  He is my father’s only other son and is what I like to call “my younger, big brother.”  Measuring in at over 6’4″, Nathan towers over just about everyone I’ve ever met, but is one of those gentle giants with a heart of gold.  He’d rather make people laugh than ever see anyone hurt for any reason.  And he’s just as protective of me as I am of him.  Of course we had far from a perfect sibling relationship growing up, but now that we’re both adults, we are seeing more eye-to-eye on most things…and that’s figuratively speaking, of course.  On my mother’s side, there’s Cammeron, Connie, Krisna, Jennieliegh, and Monica.  Cammeron is the closest in age to me and is also the only sibling of mine currently married.  He lives in the Greater Tacoma area as well with his wife, Jessika and two sons, Cammeron Jr. and Jaice.  I’m not terribly close to these 5, though I do realize that right now very well could just be a place along our paths where they do not so easily cross one another.  Only time will tell.

I attended a lot of schools throughout my childhood, but eventually graduated from Waukesha South High School in Waukesha, Wisconsin.  I was initially planning on attending the United States Naval Academy and pursuing a military career, however life took it’s course and those plans didn’t quite work out.  I attended my first year of college in Clinton, South Carolina at Presbyterian College, then transferred to the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio where I graduated in 2012 with a Bachelor of Arts in Linguistics.

More to come…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Taking responsibility for my own well-being

the perplexing palate

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

%d bloggers like this: